Deputy Minister


Deputy Minister of Justice 

MP for Fokida (Phocis)

He was born 21.10.1964 in Amfissa (Fokida).

He is an Attorney at Law, graduated from the University of Athens Law School (granted a State Scholarship - 1987). He completed the post graduate studies and possesses a doctoral degree (PhD) in Civil Procedural Law (University of Athens).


  • Lawyer of the State Legal Service (1990-1995).
  • Legal Advisor of the Fokida Chamber of Commerce and Industry (1992-2004).
  • He has been practising the profession of lawyer since 1989 and is authorized since 1999 to appear before the Greek Supreme Court of Cassation and Conseil d' Etat.

He is the founding partner of Law Offices in Amfissa and Athens (“IOANNIS D. BOUGAS & ASSOCIATES”) and has handled numerous cases at courts of every instance. He is also an accredited mediator (“Facilit-8”, Athens Bar Association Mediation Center), certified by the Ministry of Justice.

Legal publications: “The adjudication of ‘not genuine interim measures’ related to the interim proceedings” (publ. “NB”, 2015) – Collective works: “State - Security and the role of Information Services” (publ. “Politeia”), “The Lisbon Treaty” (publ. Hellenic Parliament).

He is a founding member of the Greek Association of Civil Law, member of the International Association of Lawyers (“UIA”) and the Association of Procedural Law and has participated in legal conferences, congresses and meetings.


He was elected Member of Parliament for Fokida in 2004, 2007, 2019 and 2023.

  • Deputy Minister of Justice (since 26.06.2023)
  • Secretary General of the Parliamentary Group “Nea Dimokratia” (2021-2023)
  • Deputy Minister of Development (2009)
  • Parliamentary Representative “Nea Dimokratia” (2008, 2019-2020)
  • Deputy Head of Employment and Social Security “Nea Dimokratia” (2005)
  • Member of the Parliamentary Assemblies of the Council of Europe, the Western European Union and NATO
  • Hellenic Parliament Representative at the Legal Affairs Committee of the European Parliament and the Interparliamentary Union
  • Deputy Head of Consumer Protection Secretariat “Nea Dimokratia” (2011-2012)
  • Prefectural Councilor for Fokida (1999-2002)
  • Municipal Councilor for Amfissa (1995-1998)